Taming The Diabeastie

the low carb way

  • Pages

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 16 other followers

  • Categories

  • Most Popular Recipes

  • Older Posts

  • Recent Comments

    Solitary Dancer on Resurrection
    Katy on Resurrection
    Neyla Craven on 3 Minute Microwave Bread
    Solitary Dancer on Time Out
    roz on Time Out
    Solitary Dancer on Cauliflower ‘Tater…
    Melinda on Cauliflower ‘Tater…
    Low Carb Breakfast O… on Egg Salad
    Solitary Dancer on 3 Minute Microwave Bread
    Kristin on 3 Minute Microwave Bread
    Arleen Skidmore on Sweetened Condensed Milk …
    Margaret on Brussels Sprouts with Pecans a…
    Bekah on Cheesy Chicken Cabbage Ca…
    Mock danish | ZyDra on Mock Danish
    lowcarbconfidential on Revival
  • Meta

  • Blog Stats

    • 269,558 visitors

Lisa’s Orange Nut Flaxseed Muffins

Posted by Solitary Dancer on May 26, 2006

I made the most amazing flaxseed muffins last night, I wanted to share it. The flavoring was my husband’s brilliant idea.

Orange nut muffins

1 cup freshly ground golden flaxseed
2 tablespoons protein powder
3 tablespoons almond flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon baking powder
½ teaspoon salt

3 eggs
¼ cup water
stevia to taste
¼ cup torani’s French vanilla sugar-free syrup
¼ cup oil
1 teaspoon vanilla
1.5 teaspoons orange extract

1/3 cup pecan pieces

mix wet and dry ingredients separately, then mix together well with a wisk. Add nuts, let the batter sit for a few minutes then bake for 25 minutes at 350 degrees in a 6 cup silicone muffin pan.

I served them with cream cheese frosting (cream cheese and toranis) and they were out of this world!

Lisa

3 Responses to “Lisa’s Orange Nut Flaxseed Muffins”

  1. Happyhealthy1 said

    Wow those sound so good, they remind me of the Pilsberry orange rolls I would make when I was younger. I am definitely going to make these this weekend. I am curious about the Torani’s French vanilla sugar-free syrup, I never heard of this. I have the SweetLeaf stevia vanilla creme liquid and I plan to use this in place of the syrup, it works great for replacing vanilla extract as well, especially the artificial vanilla flavor….I like to do eveything natural if possible. So the liquid stevia vanilla creme is so sweet and adds the perfect amount of vanilla as well, I use this in my banana bread, two in one! Thank-you for the delicious, healthy recipe…much appreciated!

  2. Nikki said

    I’m so glad that someone else has found SweetLeaf Stevia too! I use it in place of all artificial sweeteners and sugar because it is so much healthier and it has no calories, no carbs and no glycemic index – ideal for anyone!

    When I substitute SweetLeaf for sugar in recipes I always make sure to add a filler substance to keep the amount of ingredients the same. For example if the recipe called for one cup of sugar I would use SweetLeaf and then add one cup of mashed bananas or yogurt to keep the volume of the recipe. It works great!

    Also, I found these videos while on YouTube if anyone wants to check them out for more info on SweetLeaf or stevia:

  3. yoda said

    I use SweetLeaf stevia, too! I use the vanilla crem stevia in baking as well! It’s also great in fruit smoothies!

Leave a Reply

 
