Taming The Diabeastie

the low carb way

  • Pages

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 16 other followers

  • March 2006
    M T W T F S S
    « Feb   Apr »
     12345
    6789101112
    13141516171819
    20212223242526
    2728293031  
  • Categories

  • Most Popular Recipes

  • Older Posts

  • Recent Comments

    Solitary Dancer on Resurrection
    Katy on Resurrection
    Neyla Craven on 3 Minute Microwave Bread
    Solitary Dancer on Time Out
    roz on Time Out
    Solitary Dancer on Cauliflower ‘Tater…
    Melinda on Cauliflower ‘Tater…
    Low Carb Breakfast O… on Egg Salad
    Solitary Dancer on 3 Minute Microwave Bread
    Kristin on 3 Minute Microwave Bread
    Arleen Skidmore on Sweetened Condensed Milk …
    Margaret on Brussels Sprouts with Pecans a…
    Bekah on Cheesy Chicken Cabbage Ca…
    Mock danish | ZyDra on Mock Danish
    lowcarbconfidential on Revival
  • Meta

  • Blog Stats

    • 269,605 visitors

Mock Danish

Posted by Solitary Dancer on March 9, 2006

Mock Danish 

2 oz. cream cheese (1/4 package) 1 egg
2 tsp Splenda
1/2 tsp vanilla
cinnamon to taste (I use lots)
 
Soften the cream cheese in the microwave in a cereal bowl.  Beat with a spoon until smooth.  Add the egg and beat until creamy.  Add the rest of the ingredients and scrape down the sides with a spatula to get all the batter in the bottom of the bowl.
 
Microwave on high for 30 seconds; rotate bowl and cook another 30 seconds.   You may have to cook a little longer, depending on your microwave, but the centre should be a little soft for the Danish filling effect.  Run a spatula around and under the Danish to release it from the bowl and transfer upside down to a small plate.
 
Total carbs:  4 grams

Cinnamon Glaze For Mock Danish

Ingredients:

1 tablespoon butter-softened
1/4 teaspoon granular Splenda (I guess you could use liquid but never tried)
Pinch of cinnamon.

Directions:

Blend all ingredients well in a small bowl. If necessary, freeze a few minutes until very thick but spreadable. Spread over cooled Mock Danish.

Makes 1 serving.

13 Responses to “Mock Danish”

  1. Mo said

    Just made this to satisfy a sweet fix (I am not diabetic, but am on phase one of the South Beach Diet).

    It was tasty but a little texturally odd – fluffy, and without much body. Did you find the same or did I do something wrong?

  2. Deb said

    It does take some practice. What you’re trying to do is get the consistency of a cheese danish. The ouside is like pastry but the inside or center is soft and gooey. Try fiddling with the time. Each microwave is a bit different.

    Otherwise, just enjoy!!!!!

    Deb

  3. DeAnna said

    I make this same thing from time to time. I always use 1/4 flax seed meal. This does not add any carbs, but adds a major amount of fiber and body. Make the “danish” more bready. I also use orange extract in mine. That and the cinnamon make it taste like a yummy bear claw .

    Hope this helps.

  4. Deb said

    Oh wow, what a great idea. Thanks for a new idea on a great recipe! I can’t wait to try this one out.

    Deb

  5. LeeAnn said

    I read a few recipes for the mock danish and each time I just thought that it would be eggy and gross… I was indeed surprised when I tried it this morning!!!!! I used only egg white instead of the whole egg so it wouldn’t be so eggy, and it looked quite gross when it came out of the microwave. To my surprise, it was soooo tastey and sweet! I didn’t have any Splenda around, so I had to swipe some from work, shh! I absolutely love this recipe, and I will definitely be eating this almost every morning!

  6. Susan said

    this recipe is great i have made it 2x’s today already and now my sister in law in Florida wants me to send it to her. it is great, but i dont know where they are getting the 170mg of potassium from …..

  7. courtney said

    When Im made this it was quite gross looking, i had to add another 2×15 seconds and more cinnamon 😀 But its tasty, i can taste the egg a bit but other then that its pretty tasty and my chicken smells nice 😀

  8. courtney said

    oops edit that, my kitchen not chicken haha

  9. Lorena said

    I think revolution rolls make a better danish, just add cinnamon, vanilla, and splenda. The texture is more bready.

  10. LaLa said

    I have made this before, and if you add Flax it makes a world of difference! Just my $0.02

  11. Adding Flax is always a good thing. Thanks for the tip!

    Deb

  12. KellyNew@Atkins said

    Wow. I tried this recipe using the flax seed. It was AMAZING!!! I’m hooked. My 2-year-old kept fighting me to eat it. She’s hooked too! Thanks.

  13. […] Mock Danish « Taming The DiabeastieMar 9, 2006 … I read a few recipes for the mock danish and each time I just thought that it would be eggy and gross… I was indeed surprised when I tried … No Comments 1345 […]

Leave a Reply

 
